Caring Co-Existence

Panel with online-lectures by Alexandra Daisy Ginsberg (London) and Paulo Tavares (Brasilia)
Friday, 22nd of October 2021, from 5:30 to 8:00 p.m. 
Online-event, please register here: 
https://wiki.tum.de/x/fgf-Nw

 

Public inaugural event of our project „Cross Challenge I: Caring Co-Existence“ with online-lectures by the London based artist and designer Alexandra Daisy Ginsberg and the Brazilian architect and urbanist Paulo Tavares. The evening will focus on the question how to imagine and foster multi-species cohabitation in the face of “capitalist ruins” (A. Tsing) and a “damaged planet” (D. Haraway). Subsequent to the lectures there will be a short panel discussion. To join the event please register here https://wiki.tum.de/x/fgf-Nw. We will then provide you with the link in time.

 

Cross Challenge is a joint trans-disciplinary project format between the Young Academy of the Technische Universität München (TUMJA), the Academy of Fine Arts Munich (AdbK/cx), the University of Television and Film Munich (HFF) as well as the University of Music and Performing Arts Munich (HMTM). Students from these four institutions are invited to develop a joint project in small groups. They will receive a small production budget, input from international experts within the framework of workshops and lectures and will be accompanied and supported by lecturers of the partner institutions. Cross-Challenge wants to promote trans-disciplinary research early on and especially the collaboration between scientists and artists, as we believe in its pioneering innovation and transformative potential.

 

Biographies of the speakers

 

Alexandra Daisy Ginsberg is an artist examining our fraught relationships with nature and technology. She has spent over ten years experimentally engaging with the field of synthetic biology, developing new roles for artists and designers. In 2017 Ginsberg completed her PhD by practice, at London’s Royal College of Art (RCA), interrogating how powerful dreams of “better” futures shape the things that get designed. She read architecture at the University of Cambridge, was a visiting scholar at Harvard University, and received her MA in Design Interactions from the RCA. Daisy won the World Technology Award for design in 2011, the London Design Medal for Emerging Talent in 2012, and the Dezeen Changemaker Award 2019. She exhibits internationally, including at MoMA New York, the Museum of Contemporary Art, Tokyo, the National Museum of China, the Centre Pompidou, and the Royal Academy. Her work is held in private and museum permanent collections, including the Art Institute of Chicago, the Cooper Hewitt Smithsonian Design Museum, and ZKM Karlsruhe. 

 

Paulo Tavares is an architect, writer, and educator. His work has been featured in various exhibitions and publications worldwide, including Harvard Design Magazine, the Oslo Architecture Triennial, the Istanbul Design Biennale, and the São Paulo Biennial. He is a long-term collaborator of Forensic Architecture and the author of the books Forest Law (2014), Des-Habitat (2019), and Memória da terra (2020). 2019 he was cocurator of the Chicago Architecture Biennial. Tavares’ design and teaching practice spans different territories, social geographies and media. He taught design and visual cultures at the Faculty of Architecture, Design and Art at the Pontifical Catholic University of Ecuador in Quito and prior to that led the MA programme at the Centre for Research Architecture at Goldsmith (London). He currently teaches spatial and visual cultures at the University of Brasília in Brazil and leads the architectural agency autonoma, a platform dedicated to urban research and intervention.

Caring Co-Existence
Panel mit online-Vorträgen von Alexandra Daisy Ginsberg (London) und Paulo Tavares (Brasilia)
Freitag, den 22.10.2021, 17:30–20:00 Uhr
Teilnahme nur online möglich, bitte anmelden unter:
  https://wiki.tum.de/x/fgf-Nw

 

Öffentliche Auftaktveranstaltung des hochschulübergreifenden Projekts „Cross Challenge I: Caring Co-Existence“ mit online-Vorträge der Londoner Künstlerin und Designerin Alexandra Daisy Ginsberg und des Brasilianischen Architekten und Urbanisten Paulo Tavares ein. Im Fokus des Abends steht die Frage, wie wir angesichts „kapitalistischer Ruinen“ (A. Tsing) und eines „zerstörten Planeten“ (D. Haraway) alternative Formen des Zusammenleben mit einer Vielfalt von Spezies imaginieren und erproben können. An die Vorträge schließt eine kurze Paneldiskussion im Hybrid-Format an. Um der Veranstaltung online beizuwohnen, bitten wir um eine Anmeldung unter  https://wiki.tum.de/x/fgf-Nw. Der Veranstaltungslink wird Ihnen dann rechtzeitig zugesendet. 

 

Cross Challenge ist ein gemeinsames transdisziplinäre Projektformat der Jungen Akademie der Technischen Universität München (TUMJA), der Akademie der Bildenden Künste (AdbK/cx), der Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen (HFF) sowie der Hochschule für Musik und Theater München (HMTM). Studierende dieser Hochschulen arbeiten in kleinen Gruppen an einem gemeinsa­men Projekt. Sie erhalten hierfür ein kleines Produktionsbudget, fachlichen Input von internationalen Expert*innen im Rahmen von Workshops und Vorträgen und werden von Do­zent*innen der Partnerhochschulen begleitet und unterstützt. Ziel des gemeinsamen projektbezogenen und kollaborativen Formats ist es, durch inter- und transdiszipli­näre Zusammenarbeit andere Perspektiven auf zentrale Fragestellungen unserer Zeit zu er­öffnen sowie neue Herangehensweisen und Praxisformen zu erproben.

 

Biographien der Vortragenden

 

Alexandra Daisy Ginsberg untersucht in ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit unser angespanntes Verhältnis zwischen Natur und Technologie. Sie arbeitete über 10 Jahre lang experimentell im Bereich der Synthetischen Biologie und entwickelte hier neue Rollen für Künstler*innen und Designer*innen. 2017 schloss Ginsberg ihren PhD by practice am Londoner Royal College of Art (RCA) ab, der sich um die Frage drehte, wie mächtige Träume von ‘besseren’ Zukünften Dinge formen, die gestaltet werden. Sie unterrichtete im Bereich Architektur an der University of Cambridge, war Gastdozentin an der Harvard University und erhielt ihren MA in Design Interactions am RCA. Daisy gewann den World Technology Award for design in 2011, die London Design Medal for Emerging Talent in 2012, und den Dezeen Changemaker Award 2019. Ihre Arbeiten wurden bereits international ausgestellt, beispielsweise im MoMA New York, dem Museum of Contemporary Art, Tokyo, dem National Museum of China, dem Centre Pompidou, Paris und der Royal Academy, London. Sie befinden sich außerdem in privaten und öffentlichen Sammlung wie dem Art Institute of Chicago, dem Cooper Hewitt Smithsonian Design Museum, und dem ZKM Karlsruhe. 

 

Paulo Tavares Ist Architekt, Autor und Dozent. Seine Arbeiten wurden weltweit in verschiedenen Museen ausgestellt und Publikationen veröffentlicht, beispielsweise im Harvard Design Magazine, der Oslo Architecture Triennial, der Istanbul Design Biennale, und der São Paulo Biennial. Er ist langjähriger Mitarbeiter von Forensic Architecture sowie Autor der Bücher Forest Law (2014), Des-Habitat (2019) und Memória da terra (2020). 2019 war er Co-Kurator der Chicago Architecture Biennial. Tavares Design- und Lehrpraxis umfassen verschiedene Territorien, soziale Geographien und Medien. Er unterrichtete Design und visuelle Kultur an der Fakultät für Architektur, Design und Kunst an der Pontifical Catholic University of Ecuador in Quito und leitete vorher das MA Programm am Centre for Research Architecture am Goldsmith College, London. Im Moment unterrichtet er räumliche und visuelle Kulturen an der University of Brasília in Brasilien und leitet die Agentur autonoma (gegr. 2017), eine Plattform für Stadtforschung und urbane Interventionen.